University of Dundee

Latest News

July 2008

  • 31 Jul 2008

    This year the Royal Society of Edinburgh are to honour two professors at the University of Dundee both of whom are affiliated with the College of Life Sciences. The RSE’s Royal Medals for 2008 are being awarded to Professor Roger Fletcher FRS FRSE for his outstanding contribution to mathematics and software development and Sir David Lane FRS FRSE for his outstanding contribution to cancer research through his discovery of P53 tumour suppressor gene.

  • 17 Jul 2008

    Dr. Joao Rodrigues of the Ferguson Lab in the Division of Biological Chemistry and Drug Discovery, has been awarded the title of Early Stage Investigator 2008 by the British Society for Proteome Research.

  • 10 Jul 2008

    Professor Sue Black OBE FRSE, Professor of Anatomy and Forensic Anthropology and Director of the Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification, is the 2008 recipient of the Lucy Mair Medal for Applied Anthropology from the Royal Anthropological Institute. The Lucy Mair Medal is awarded to honour excellence in the application of anthropology to the relief of poverty and distress, and to the active recognition of human dignity.

  • 10 Jul 2008

    Sir Philip Cohen, Director of the Medical Research Council’s Protein Phosphorylation Unit, Royal Society Research Professor at the University of Dundee, and Director-Designate of the newly established Scottish Institute for Cell Signalling, has been awarded the Royal Society’s prestigious Royal Medal, it was announced today (Thursday 10 July). Professor Cohen is the fourth scientist in his Unit to receive an eminent award since the start of the year, making 2008 a particularly special year both for the individual recipients and the Unit as a whole.

  • 02 Jul 2008

    Professor Mike Ferguson, Dean of Research at the University of Dundee’s College of Life Sciences, received his CBE from The Queen in Edinburgh yesterday (Tuesday, 1 July). Professor Ferguson, a Fellow of The Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Society of London and the Academy of Medical Sciences, is a world-renowned specialist in the biochemistry of tropical diseases and was given the award in the New Year’s Honours List for Services to Science.